Alfredo Cisneros del Moral Foundation

Alfredo Cisneros de Moral

The Alfredo Cisneros Del Moral Foundation was created in 2000 to honor the memory of Sandra Cisneros' father, an upholsterer. "My father lived his life as an example of generosity and honest labor," Cisneros has written, "Even as he warned us to save our centavitos, he was always giving away his own. A meticulous craftsman, he would sooner rip the seams of a cushion apart and do it over than put his name on an item that wasn't up to his high standards. I especially wanted to honor his memory with an award showcasing writers who are equally proud of their own craft."

Since 2000, the Alfredo Cisneros Del Moral Foundation has awarded over $115,000 to writers born in Texas, writing about Texas, or living in Texas. The Alfredo Cisneros Del Moral Foundation invites a panel of nominators to recommend writers from across the writing disciplines who exhibit both exceptional talent and profound commitment to their chosen form of artistic expression.

Three judges are invited annually to choose a recipient. Past judges have included journalists, memoirists, anthropologists, poets, historians, essayists, and novelists  Norma Alarcón, Dr. Ruth Behar, Wendy Call, Dr. Norma Elia Cantú, Dr. Antonia Castañeda, Marilyn Chin, Andrei Codrescu, Edwidge Danticat, John O. Espinoza, Dagoberto Gilb, Elva Treviño Hart, Linda Hogan, David Liss, Dr. Arturo Madrid, Rubén Martínez, Fae Myenne Ng, Levi Romero , John Phillip Santos Craig Svonkin, Ph. D., Dr. Carmen Tafolla, and Carla Trujillo.

Sandra Cisneros has written: "In my own experience, grants not only allowed me time to write, but, more importantly, confirmed I was indeed a writer at precarious moments when my own faith in my art wobbled." It is her hope this award will strengthen the resolve of the award winners and further them along in their careers.

For more information or to make a donation to the Alfredo Cisneros Del Moral Foundation, please email the Foundation Director at or write to:

The Alfredo Cisneros Del Moral Foundation
P.O. Box 831046
San Antonio, TX 78283

Please note: The Foundation does not accept unsolicited manuscripts, nominations, applications, or individual or organizational funding requests. All unsolicited materials will be immediately discarded.

Award history

2012 ACDM Award announcement


  Recipients         Judges

2012 Joe Jiménez Poet   Barbara Martinez, Demetria Martinez, Moumin Quazi
  Laurie Ann Guerrero Honorable Mention    
  Macarena Hernandez Honorable Mention    

2008 Sheryl Luna Poet   Wanda Coleman, Lois-Ann Yamanaka, Ramiro Salazar
  Kristin S. vanNamen Prose Writer    

2007 Raul R. Salinas Established Artist   Josip Novakovich, Harryette Mullen, Dr. Ellen Riojas Clark
  Elisa A. Garza Emerging Artist    
  Monica Ortiz Honorable Mention    

2006 Christine Granados     Edwidge Danticat, Linda Hogan, Antonia Castaneda

2005 David Rice,
Cristina Henriquez
    Joy Harjo, Rueben Martinez, Marion Winik

2004 Diana Lupez Established Writer   Ai, Richard Blanco, Paul Bonin-Rodrìguez
  Natalia Trevino Emerging Writer    
  David Rutschman Honorable Mention    

2003 Gregorio Barrios Established Writer   Carla Trujillo, Gilberto Quesada, Ruben Martinez
  Pablo Miguel Martìnez Emerging Writer    
  Sterling Houston Honorable Mention    

2002 Amalia Ortiz,
Barbara Renaud González,
Deborah Paredez
    Dagoberto Gilb, Ruth Behar, Elva Trevino Hart

2001 Frances Trevino,
JoAnne Reyes Boitel
    Norma Cantú, John Phillip Santos, and Carmen Tafolla

2000 Nicole Pollentier     Arturo Madrid, Cantú, Bryce Milligan



All contents of this website are copyright © 2015 Sandra Cisneros, unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.